History of GMATYC

In 1987, the Georgia Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges was founded at the first annual DeKalb College (now Georgia Perimeter Collge) Mathematics Conference. Sharon Ross, DeKalb College Central Campus (now Georgia Perimeter College, Clarkston Campus), was instrumental in writing the first constitution and by-laws. The first president of GMATYC was Ms. Linda Exley, DeKalb College, Central Campus (now Georgia Perimeter Collge, Clarkston Campus). Click here for a list of past GMATYC presidents.

For the last ten years, the annual GMATYC business meeting has taken place at the Georgia Perimeter College Mathematics Conference help annually. Membership has grown over the years to nearly 150 members from two-and four-year colleges, both public and private, technical schools, and universities throughout Gerogia.